Why is there a need for a Policy & Advocacy Work Group?

The purpose of the OYS Policy & Advocacy Work Group is to codify best practices and change policies that hinder the juvenile justice system, including coordinating policy related action items that arise the work groups

Voices for Children in Nebraska is the independent voice building pathways to opportunity for all children and families through research, policy and community engagement.  Voices for Children has developed a Pro-Kid Policy Plan, focusing on the issues of child welfare, economic stability, health, and juvenile justice. Policy priorities are guided by research, data, and proven best practices that improve child well-being. Close attention is paid to the impact of race, socioeconomic status, and geography, and removing barriers to opportunity within these areas.

Juvenile Justice in the Legislature

Meeting Location & Dates

Policy & Advocacy Work Group

  • Every other month on the 4th Monday at the UNO Barbara Weitz Community Engagement Center, 8:30 a.m. to 10:00 a.m.
Work Group Meeting Notes
Interest Survey

Policy & Advocacy Work Group Members

A’Jamal-Rashad Byndon

Brad Alexander

Catherine Hall

Chris Rodgers

Jennifer Potterf

Dominique Morgan

* Working group co-chair

*Christine Henningsen

Joy Suder

Juliet Summers

*Kerri Peterson

James Hubbard

Rachelle Miller

*Margaret Vacek

Mary Visek

Nicole Brundo

Patrick Bloomingdale

Shawne Coonfare

Nicole Mitchell

Runaway Task Force

The Purpose of the OYS Runaway Task Force?

  • Prevent youth who are exhibiting runaway risk factors and behaviors from entering the juvenile justice system, by ensuring that appropriate community resources exist and meet the needs of youth.
  • Ensure the justice system if effective, compassionate, and empowers youth and their families to succeed while building an environment of mutual trust and accountability.

Runaway Task Force Meeting Location

  • The Runaway Task Force meets on the 2nd Thursday of every month at the UNO Barbara Weitz Community Engagement Center, 8:30 am to 10:00 am.

Runaway Task Force Members

Christine Henningsen

Colleen Roth

James Hubbard

Kerri Peterson

Krynn Pekny

* Working group co-chair

*Lt. Tracy Scherer

Mary Fraser-Meints

*Nicole Seymour

Nicole Novak

Nicole Mitchell

Julie Mason

Nicole Brundo

Ronda Newman

Shawne Coonfare

Shelly Hug

Jill Anderson

Cara Stirts